I live just five kilometres from this beautiful urban park but am ashamed to say – and my husband even more so, as he has lived in Fremantle since birth – that we didn’t know it existed and yet it is Fremantle’s only ‘bush forever’ park. It has beautiful Jarrah, Marri and Tuart trees, and is indicative of what the whole of the area would have looked like before occupation.

It is home to over 50 bird species, reptiles and bats and to date is my favourite urban park. I’m not sure whether it is the time of year I visited, or the variety of vegetation, but there seemed to be much more active bird life, so much so, that by the end of my visit I had a sore neck from looking upwards all the time!

With urban encroachment, we must all do what we can to protect these natural environments, not just for our own wellbeing but for the native animals that rely on them.

Leave a comment